Slashdot Items Tagged "tv"

Date / Time Story
Sunday July 16, 2017 @11:44PM George A. Romero, Martin Landau Both Died This Weekend
Sunday July 16, 2017 @04:33PM Tech Companies Capture A Third Of This Year's Emmy Nominations
Sunday July 16, 2017 @02:22PM Doctor Who's 13th Time Lord Announced: Actress Jodie Whittaker
Friday July 14, 2017 @10:52AM Netflix Shows Are All Worldwide Hits -- Until They're Not
Tuesday July 11, 2017 @05:08PM Amazon Prime Will Soon Be More Popular Than Cable TV
Thursday July 06, 2017 @04:05PM TV Networks Hide Bad Ratings With Typos, Report Says
Thursday July 06, 2017 @01:30PM HBO and Cinemax Come To Hulu, But You'll Need the New App To Watch
Monday July 03, 2017 @06:11PM Forced Arbitration Isn't 'Forced' Because No One Has To Buy Service, Says AT&T
Monday July 03, 2017 @04:04PM PBS Bets $3 Million That Monkeys Are Better CS Preschool Teachers Than Rabbits
Wednesday June 28, 2017 @06:28AM Amazon Will Offer Prime Video At Half-Price In All New Markets For Six More Months
Thursday June 22, 2017 @08:15PM Netflix Launches New 'Interactive Shows' That Let Viewers Dictate the Story
Thursday June 22, 2017 @04:21PM BBC Technical Glitch Leaves TV Presenter In Silence
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @08:30PM Domestic Appliances Guzzle Far More Energy Than Advertised, Says EU Survey
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @04:32PM How Hollywood Got Hacked: Studio at Center of Netflix Leak Breaks Silence
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @10:32AM The Best And Worst ISPs According To Consumer Reports
Monday June 19, 2017 @03:04PM 'Star Trek: Discovery' Gets September Premiere Date On CBS & CBS All Access, Season 1 Split In Two
Friday June 16, 2017 @11:23PM Studio-Defying VidAngel Launches New Video-Filtering Platform
Thursday June 15, 2017 @01:25PM Pirate Bay Is Infringing Copyright, European Court of Justice Rules
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @07:30PM Netflix Has More American Subscribers Than Cable TV
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @05:13PM We Could Have Had Cellphones Four Decades Earlier
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @10:54AM Ask Slashdot: Your Favorite Subscription Services?
Monday June 12, 2017 @07:08AM Sharp To Americans: You Don't Want to Buy a Sharp-Brand TV
Saturday June 10, 2017 @03:54PM That Time Adam West, TV's 'Batman', Also Advocated For Videogames
Friday June 09, 2017 @07:40PM Younger Millennials Don't Know What Networks Are Responsible For TV Shows, Unless It's Netflix
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @02:29PM What Are Some Documentaries and TV Shows That You Recommend To Others?
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @01:02PM Apple's 'Planet of the Apps' Reality Show Is 'Bland, Tepid, Barely Competent Knock-off of 'Shark Tank'
Monday June 05, 2017 @06:29PM Cable TV 'Failing' As a Business, Cable Industry Lobbyist Says
Monday June 05, 2017 @04:41PM Hackers Leak Eight Episodes of An Unreleased ABC Show
Thursday June 01, 2017 @01:11PM Movie Studios Are Blaming Rotten Tomatoes For Killing Movies No One Wants To See
Wednesday May 31, 2017 @03:04PM Bill Simmons Says ESPN Blew It By Not Embracing Tech
Friday May 26, 2017 @05:49PM UCF Research Could Bring 'Drastically' Higher Resolution To Your Phone and TV
Friday May 26, 2017 @04:12PM Comcast Customer Satisfaction Drops 6% After TV Price Hikes, ACSI Says
Thursday May 25, 2017 @11:26AM Cord-Cutters Are Ditching Their Cable Packages At the Fastest Rate Ever
Thursday May 25, 2017 @11:22AM The Cable TV Industry Is Getting Even Less Popular
Wednesday May 24, 2017 @06:35PM Facebook Signs BuzzFeed, Vox, Others For Original Video Shows
Saturday May 20, 2017 @02:15PM EU Passes 'Content Portability' Rules Banning Geofencing
Thursday May 18, 2017 @02:02PM Families Will Spend More Than a Third of Summer Staring At Screens
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @06:54PM Star Trek Discovery's First Trailer Brings a New Ship, New Characters, and Old Conflicts
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @05:34PM Google Home Gets Notifications, Hands-Free Calling, a TV Interface and More
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @02:30PM Popular Torrent Site ExtraTorrent Permanently Shuts Down
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @06:35PM Our Obsession With Trailers Is Making Movies Worse
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @04:40PM Amazon Targets Cord Cutters With First-Ever Integrated Fire TV Sets
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @11:37AM Our Obsession With Trailers Is Making Movies Worse
Sunday May 14, 2017 @05:31PM Streaming Services Will Pay Writers More Under New Writers Guild Pact
Friday May 12, 2017 @10:54PM HBO's 'Silicon Valley' Joins The Push For A Decentralized Web
Friday May 12, 2017 @09:34AM Going After Netflix, Cannes Bans Streaming-Only Movies From Competition Slots
Friday May 05, 2017 @05:32PM The Apple Watch Outsold Every Other Wearable Last Quarter
Thursday May 04, 2017 @04:16PM Cord-Cutting Spikes Fivefold In Cable TV's Worst Quarter Ever
Wednesday May 03, 2017 @03:47PM Hulu Launches Its Live TV Streaming Service
Sunday April 30, 2017 @05:54PM Hacker Leaks 'Orange Is the New Black' Episodes After Failing To Extort Netflix
Friday April 28, 2017 @10:10AM BitTorrent is Shutting Down Its Live TV Streaming Service
Thursday April 27, 2017 @09:05AM What Happens To Summer TV Binges If Hollywood Writers Strike
Tuesday April 25, 2017 @04:27PM Netflix Is Now In China Via a Deal With iQiyi
Friday April 21, 2017 @11:11PM WikiLeaks Releases New CIA Secret: Tapping Microphones On Some Samsung TVs
Friday April 21, 2017 @02:55PM Court Rules Fan Subtitles On TV and Movies Are Illegal
Thursday April 20, 2017 @02:12PM FCC Takes First Step Toward Allowing More Broadcast TV Mergers
Monday April 17, 2017 @08:40PM Netflix Nears 100 Million Subscribers
Saturday April 15, 2017 @02:16AM 17 Years Later, A New Season Of MST3K Premiers On Netflix
Thursday April 13, 2017 @07:11PM Roku-Enabled TVs Will Soon 'Listen' To Programs You're Watching To Suggest Streaming Content
Wednesday April 12, 2017 @04:15PM Broadcasters Put New Ad-Skipping Restrictions On YouTube TV
Tuesday April 11, 2017 @11:51AM TV's Golden Age Is Anything But, Say Writers Preparing To Strike
Monday April 10, 2017 @02:36PM China's LeEco Calls Off Its $2 Billion Purchase of TV Maker Vizio
Friday April 07, 2017 @05:01PM Over 90% of College Students Today Regularly Use Netflix, But Only 34% Are Actually Paying For Their Own Account
Wednesday April 05, 2017 @04:13PM YouTube Launches 'YouTube TV' In Select Markets
Tuesday April 04, 2017 @02:44PM A Case For Why Movie-Theater Experience Is Still Worth the Effort
Monday April 03, 2017 @02:43PM Netflix Now Lets You Download Videos Onto Your PC
Monday April 03, 2017 @08:45AM Apple Wants To Sell Premium TV Channels in a Bundle
Sunday April 02, 2017 @09:18PM Will Streaming Media Lead To A Massive Writer's Strike?
Saturday April 01, 2017 @12:11AM Amazon Bans Sales of Media Player Boxes That Promote Piracy
Thursday March 30, 2017 @09:22AM Christopher Nolan and Sofia Coppola Urge Fans To Watch Films in Cinemas, Not On Netflix
Wednesday March 29, 2017 @04:18PM About 90% of Smart TVs Vulnerable To Remote Hacking Via Rogue TV Signals
Monday March 27, 2017 @11:34AM Enemy Number One is Netflix: The Monster That's Eating Hollywood
Friday March 24, 2017 @02:41PM AMC Plans Ad-Free Streaming Service
Friday March 24, 2017 @08:43AM Hollywood Producer Blames Rotten Tomatoes For Convincing People Not To See His Movie
Thursday March 23, 2017 @11:06AM Studios Flirt With Offering Movies Early in Home for $30
Thursday March 23, 2017 @10:35AM 18 To 24-Year-Olds Are Hitting the Big Screen at Lower Rates
Wednesday March 22, 2017 @11:25AM Cord-Cutting Isn't Nearly as Significant as Cable Providers Make It Out To Be
Friday March 17, 2017 @03:53PM Netflix Replacing Star Ratings With Thumbs Up and Thumbs Down
Friday March 17, 2017 @02:53PM Movie Theaters Haven't Innovated Beyond Popcorn, Says Netflix CEO
Thursday March 16, 2017 @03:54PM DirecTV Admits Screwing Up Regional Sports Fees, Starts Issuing Credits
Thursday March 16, 2017 @01:45PM Buying a Samsung TV Online Could Jeopardize Your Data
Thursday March 16, 2017 @11:14AM Netflix Will Explore Mobile-Specific Cuts of Its Original Series
Wednesday March 15, 2017 @03:54PM 'The Matrix' Reboot: It's Finally Happened. Hollywood Has Run Out of All the Ideas
Tuesday March 14, 2017 @10:59AM 82% of Kids in 'Netflix Only' Homes Have No Idea What Commercials Are
Thursday March 09, 2017 @11:33PM Verizon Wireless Wades Right Back Into the Net Neutrality Debate With Fios Deal
Thursday March 09, 2017 @03:52PM Amazon Says It's Open To Pushing Content Through Cable Boxes
Thursday March 09, 2017 @02:35PM Despite Netflix and Amazon Prime, Most of the World Watches Pirated Content
Tuesday March 07, 2017 @09:03AM For the First Time, More US Households Have Netflix Than a DVR
Monday March 06, 2017 @03:58PM Streaming Pirate Content Isn't Illegal, UK Trading Standards Says
Sunday March 05, 2017 @12:47AM Streaming TV Sites Now Have More Subscribers Than Cable TV
Friday March 03, 2017 @09:56PM Curated Advertising Is Coming To Highway Billboards
Tuesday February 28, 2017 @05:41PM YouTube Unveils YouTube TV, Its Live TV Streaming Service
Tuesday February 28, 2017 @04:26PM Americans Have Fewer TVs On Average Than They Did In 2009
Tuesday February 28, 2017 @01:17AM One Billion Hours of YouTube Are Watched Every Day
Monday February 27, 2017 @03:34PM In Twenty, Fifty Years, 'We May Be Entertaining AI', Says Netflix CEO
Friday February 24, 2017 @08:14PM Slashdot Asks: Are Curved TVs Worth It?
Friday February 24, 2017 @02:32PM Studios Push for $50 Early Home Movie Rentals
Friday February 17, 2017 @04:30PM 70 Percent of Young Swedish Men Are Video Pirates, Study Says
Tuesday February 14, 2017 @02:37PM Facebook is Bringing Its Social Network To TV, Video App Announced For Apple's and Amazon's Set-Top Boxes
Sunday February 12, 2017 @03:07AM Netflix Geoblocking Loosened Under New EU Law
Wednesday February 08, 2017 @04:55PM Police Arrest Five Men For Selling Kodi Boxes 'Fully Loaded' With Illegal Streaming Apps
Wednesday February 08, 2017 @10:09AM EU Agrees To Cross-Border Access To Streaming Services
Tuesday February 07, 2017 @08:53PM Battlestar Galactica Actor Richard Hatch Dies At 71
Monday February 06, 2017 @02:35PM Vizio Settles With FTC, Will Pay $2.2 Million and Delete User Data
Monday February 06, 2017 @07:53AM 'The End Of The Level Playing Field'
Sunday February 05, 2017 @09:01PM A Super Bowl Koan: Does The NFL Wish It Were A Tech Company?
Friday February 03, 2017 @06:58PM IMDb Is Shutting Down Its Long-Running, Popular Message Boards After 16 Years
Thursday February 02, 2017 @01:29PM Film Industry's Latest Search Engine Draws Traffic With 'Pirate' Keywords'
Tuesday January 31, 2017 @04:00PM Roku Owners: Comcast Is About To Sell You Cable TV Without the Cable Box
Monday January 30, 2017 @12:41PM Sony Warns It Will Take $1 Billion Writedown, Blames Slowing DVD Sales
Tuesday January 24, 2017 @04:49PM Netflix Will Now Let Android Users Download Content Onto SD Storage
Tuesday January 24, 2017 @03:59PM Amazon's Best Picture Oscar Nod Makes History For Streaming Media
Sunday January 22, 2017 @12:46AM NASA Names an Asteroid After 'Star Trek' Actor Wil Wheaton
Friday January 20, 2017 @11:11PM Sony Is Weighing a Sale of Film, TV Business
Friday January 20, 2017 @02:23PM Despite Glitches, AT&T's DirecTV Now Hits 200,000 Subscribers in Its First Month
Friday January 20, 2017 @11:21AM 3D TV Is Dead
Friday January 20, 2017 @02:38AM Star Trek Discovery Gets Delayed Again As Spock's Father Is Cast
Thursday January 19, 2017 @04:35PM Netflix Calls Out HBO For Not Letting Subscribers Binge On New Shows
Tuesday January 17, 2017 @04:25PM Verizon Looking To Buy Comcast or Charter, Says Report
Tuesday January 17, 2017 @02:55PM Netflix is 'Killing' DVD Sales, Research Finds
Monday January 16, 2017 @03:03PM Apple Exec Jimmy Iovine Confirms Company's Interest in Making 'Pop Culture' TV Shows
Friday January 13, 2017 @07:22PM Head of Sony Entertainment, Michael Lynton, To Step Down
Thursday January 12, 2017 @10:17AM Apple Planning To Make Original TV Shows and Movies as Hardware Sales Soften
Wednesday January 11, 2017 @02:01PM Streaming TV is Beginning To Look a Lot Like Cable
Wednesday January 11, 2017 @02:00PM Streaming TV is Beginning To Look a Lot Like Cable
Monday January 09, 2017 @04:03PM 'OLED TVs Will Finally Take Off in 2017'
Monday January 09, 2017 @10:02AM IMDb Ignores New Law Banning It From Publishing Actors' Ages Online, Cites Free Speech Violations
Thursday January 05, 2017 @05:59PM Ultrasound Tracking Could Be Used To Deanonymize Tor Users
Thursday January 05, 2017 @04:57PM Ask Slashdot: Why Did 3D TVs and Stereoscopic 3D Television Broadcasting Fail?
Wednesday January 04, 2017 @05:02PM Samsung Claims Its New QLED TVs Are Better Than OLED TVs
Wednesday January 04, 2017 @02:55PM Netflix Hasn't Forgotten About Its 4.3 Million DVD Subscribers
Wednesday January 04, 2017 @10:30AM Piracy 'Warnings' Fail To Boost Box Office Revenues, Research Says
Tuesday January 03, 2017 @11:41AM Dish's New AirTV Set-Top Box Does Over-the-Air and 4K Streaming
Tuesday January 03, 2017 @10:56AM Programmer Finds Way To Liberate Ransomware Affected Smart TV, Thanks To LG
Tuesday December 27, 2016 @10:17AM Amazon Prime Video's Global Launch Looks Soft, But It's Just a First Step
Friday December 23, 2016 @06:57PM BitTorrent Live's 'Cable Killer' P2P Video App Finally Hits iOS
Friday December 23, 2016 @01:02PM Google and Amazon Will Let You Rent a Movie for $0.99 During the Holiday
Thursday December 22, 2016 @12:01PM A Record High of 455 Scripted TV Shows Aired in 2016
Wednesday December 21, 2016 @09:56AM Sling TV Accidentally Reveals Its Set-Top Box For Cord Cutters
Tuesday December 20, 2016 @07:23PM Chicago Electronics Recycler Faked Tear-Downs, Sent Hazardous Waste To Overseas Landfills
Friday December 16, 2016 @04:38PM YouTube Bans North Korea's State-Owned TV Channel
Wednesday December 14, 2016 @10:44AM Netflix Gets New Global Rival: Amazon Prime Video Now Available In Over 200 Countries
Monday December 12, 2016 @04:29PM Comcast Raises Controversial 'Broadcast TV' and 'Sports' Fees $48 Per Year
Friday December 09, 2016 @04:08PM Google Is Testing User Ratings For Movies, TV Within Search Results
Thursday December 08, 2016 @02:02PM Slashdot Asks: Would You Like Early Access To Movies And Stop Going To Theatres?
Wednesday December 07, 2016 @07:15PM Apple Is In Talks With Hollywood For Early Access To Movies On iTunes: Bloomberg
Wednesday December 07, 2016 @10:18AM Falsely Accused Movie Pirate Deserves $17K Compensation, Court Says
Tuesday December 06, 2016 @06:32PM Apple Launches Single Sign-On Service To Make Logging Into TV Apps Less Time-Consuming
Tuesday December 06, 2016 @09:49AM Netflix Says People Watch Same Amount of Movies Regardless of Perceived Quality or Depth
Monday December 05, 2016 @05:00PM Panasonic Announces 1,000,000:1 Contrast Ratio LCD Panel To Rival OLED
Monday December 05, 2016 @12:07PM Most DVR Owners Are Recording Live Sports, Survey Says
Friday December 02, 2016 @11:21AM Free TV-Show Streaming Hurts Online Sales, Research Finds
Thursday December 01, 2016 @12:05PM Plex Media Player Now Doesn't Require a Subscription; Pass Users Get Kodi Plug-in
Wednesday November 30, 2016 @08:18PM British Film Institute To Digitize 100,000 Old TV Shows Before They Disappear
Wednesday November 30, 2016 @12:46PM Social Media Is Killing Discourse Because It's Too Much Like TV
Wednesday November 30, 2016 @10:45AM Netflix Finally Gets Download Option
Monday November 28, 2016 @05:50PM AT&T Unveils DirecTV Now Streaming TV Service With Over 100 Channels
Sunday November 27, 2016 @09:35PM Ron Glass, Firefly's Shepherd Book, Has Died
Sunday November 27, 2016 @01:28AM Samsung Places A Big Bet on Quantum-Dot TV, Acquires QD Vision
Saturday November 26, 2016 @01:06PM False Porn-on-CNN Report Shows How Quickly Fake News Spreads
Tuesday November 22, 2016 @10:10AM Aussie Internet Pirates Are The Best Customers
Monday November 21, 2016 @04:46PM 4K Netflix Arrives On Windows 10, But Only Via Microsoft's Edge Browser
Friday November 18, 2016 @12:19PM The Grand Tour Show To Be Streamed In Over 200 Markets as Amazon Prime Video Goes Global
Wednesday November 16, 2016 @08:52PM FCC Abides By GOP Request To Stop What It's Doing, Deletes Everything From Meeting Agenda
Wednesday November 16, 2016 @05:34PM Police Raid Pirate Site, Seize 60 Servers Following MPAA Complaint
Wednesday November 16, 2016 @01:30AM 'Stranger In a Strange Land' Coming To TV
Monday November 14, 2016 @07:05PM Samsung Patent Describes Holographic TV Technology
Friday November 11, 2016 @05:25PM IMDb Sues California To Overturn Law Forcing Them To Remove Actors' Ages
Monday November 07, 2016 @01:45PM DirecTV Now Leak Reveals Channels, Promotions of AT&T's Upcoming TV Service
Saturday November 05, 2016 @06:20PM Mythbuntu Linux Has Been Discontinued
Wednesday November 02, 2016 @05:29PM Facebook Deletes Music Piracy Groups Following Complaints
Wednesday November 02, 2016 @04:58PM US Government Sues AT&T/DirecTV, Calls It 'Ringleader' of Collusion Scheme
Monday October 31, 2016 @06:38PM Cable TV Price Increases Have Beaten Inflation Every Single Year For 20 Years
Thursday October 27, 2016 @07:05PM Star Trek Discovery Gets Delayed After Losing Showrunner Bryan Fuller
Thursday October 27, 2016 @04:33PM Apple Debuts New 'TV' Guide and Watchlist App For Apple TV, iPhone and iPad
Wednesday October 26, 2016 @11:48AM Apple To Help Viewers Discover TV Shows Through an App
Tuesday October 25, 2016 @03:19PM AT&T CEO: DirecTV Now Streaming Service Will Cost $35 a Month
Monday October 24, 2016 @06:56PM People Like Netflix's Original Content More Than Its Other Content: AllFlicks
Sunday October 23, 2016 @01:22PM AT&T Buys Time Warner For $85B. Is The Mass Media Consolidating?
Thursday October 20, 2016 @04:11PM Television Needs To Be Reinvented, Says Apple SVP
Thursday October 20, 2016 @11:56AM All the Good Netflix Movies Are in Canada and Brazil
Wednesday October 19, 2016 @05:00PM Google To Launch Streaming TV Service In Early 2017
Wednesday October 19, 2016 @03:35PM LeEco Who? Chinese Tech Giant Tries Its Luck In the US With 'More Products Than You've Ever Seen'
Tuesday October 18, 2016 @11:25AM Netflix's Big Bet on Original Shows Finally Seen Paying Off
Friday October 14, 2016 @09:13PM Netflix Is 12x As Popular As Its Streaming Competitors Among Younger Viewers, Says Survey
Thursday October 13, 2016 @07:33PM Facebook Now Lets You Use Google Cast or AirPlay To Stream Video On Your TV
Wednesday October 12, 2016 @04:11PM Netflix Now Only Has 31 Movies From IMDB's Top 250 List
Tuesday October 11, 2016 @05:37PM Viewers Only Watch 10% of Pay-TV Channels: Nielsen
Friday October 07, 2016 @04:48PM Sharp Unveils 27-inch 8K 120Hz IGZO Monitor With HDR
Friday October 07, 2016 @10:42AM Netflix CEO: Movie Theaters Are 'Strangling the Movie Business''
Wednesday October 05, 2016 @08:31PM Netflix Partners With iPic To Release Its Original Movies In Theaters, NATO Urges To 'Tread Lightly'
Tuesday October 04, 2016 @04:32PM Google Refreshes Its Streaming Dongle: Unveils $69 Chromecast Ultra With 4K and HDR Capabilities
Tuesday October 04, 2016 @04:32PM Google Gets Serious About Home Automation: Unveils Google Home, Actions on Google and Google Wifi
Saturday October 01, 2016 @05:00PM Netflix Goes Down, People Freak Out and Discover Real Life
Thursday September 29, 2016 @12:36PM Cable TV Companies Could Lose Nearly $1 Billion in the Next Year From People Ditching Their Subscriptions
Friday September 23, 2016 @12:25PM You're Paying 40% More For TV Than You Were 5 Years Ago
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @06:19PM TV Manufacturers Accused of Gaming Energy Usage Tests
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @10:07AM Netflix Wants 50% Of Its Library To Be Original Content
Monday September 19, 2016 @04:46PM 4K UHD TVs Are Being Adopted Faster Than HDTVs
Monday September 19, 2016 @04:19PM Cable Lobby Tries To Make You Forget That It Represents Cable Companies