Slashdot Items Tagged "ai"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday October 17, 2017 @04:36PM Intel Aims To Take on Nvidia With a Processor Specially Designed for AI
Monday October 16, 2017 @04:18PM eBay Launches Authentication Service To Combat Counterfeit High-End Goods
Monday October 16, 2017 @10:46AM Voice Assistants Will Be Difficult To Fire
Friday October 13, 2017 @10:07AM Does the Rise of AI Precede the End of Code?
Thursday October 12, 2017 @02:26PM We're Too Wise For Robots To Take Our Jobs, Alibaba's Jack Ma Says
Saturday October 07, 2017 @01:17AM Tim O'Reilly: Don't Fear AI, Fear Ourselves
Friday October 06, 2017 @11:20PM GM Exec Says Elon Musk's Self-Driving Car Claims Are 'Full of Crap'
Thursday October 05, 2017 @02:31PM Toymaker Mattel Cancels AI Babysitter After Privacy Complaints
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @07:36PM The Google Clips Camera Puts AI Behind the Lens
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @06:23PM Mattel's New Baby Monitor Uses AI To Soothe Babies and Lawmakers Aren't Happy About It
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @04:37PM Artificial Intelligence Has 'Great Potential, But We Need To Steer Carefully,' LinkedIn Co-founder Says
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @04:03PM Google Debuts Its $400 Google Home Max Speaker To Rival Apple's HomePod
Sunday October 01, 2017 @04:14PM Donate Your Noise To Xiph/Mozilla's Deep-Learning Noise Suppression Project
Sunday October 01, 2017 @01:00PM Meet The Next Major Operating System: Amazon's Alexa
Thursday September 28, 2017 @11:00AM 5,000 People Are Working On Amazon's Digital Assistant Alexa
Monday September 25, 2017 @01:52AM Ray Kurzweil Explains Why Technology Won't Eliminate Human Jobs
Saturday September 23, 2017 @12:06AM Are Companies Overhyping AI?
Thursday September 21, 2017 @05:26PM A New Zealand Company Built An AI Baby That Plays the Piano
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @04:23PM Tesla Is Working With AMD To Develop Its Own AI Chip For Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @04:11PM Amazon Is Reportedly Working On Alexa-Enabled Smart Glasses
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @03:57PM Google's AI Boss Blasts Musk's Scare Tactics on Machine Takeover
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @03:41PM You Might Use AI, But That Doesn't Mean You're an AI Company, Says a Founder of Google Brain
Monday September 18, 2017 @09:37PM AI Just Made Guessing Your Password a Whole Lot Easier
Friday September 15, 2017 @04:05PM Artificial Intelligence Pioneer Says We Need To Start Over
Friday September 15, 2017 @02:45PM South Park's Season Premier Sets Off Everyone's Amazon Echo
Friday September 15, 2017 @12:01PM Many Machine Learning Studies Don't Actually Show Anything Meaningful, But They Spread Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt
Saturday September 09, 2017 @09:56PM Neural Networks Can Auto-Generate Reviews That Fool Humans
Saturday September 09, 2017 @09:41PM America's Data-Swamped Spy Agencies Pin Their Hopes On AI
Friday September 08, 2017 @05:08PM AI Can Detect Sexual Orientation Based On Person's Photo
Thursday September 07, 2017 @07:16PM IBM To Invest $240 Million To Develop AI Research Lab With MIT
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @04:46PM Hackers Can Take Control of Siri and Alexa By Whispering To Them in Frequencies Humans Can't Hear
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @04:07PM Executives Say AI Will Change Business, But Aren't Doing Much About It
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @10:17AM IBM Pitched Its Watson Supercomputer as a Revolution in Cancer Care. It's Nowhere Close
Monday September 04, 2017 @11:48AM AI Could Lead To Third World War, Elon Musk Says
Sunday September 03, 2017 @12:27PM Huawei Unveils AI Mobile Chipset Said To Rival A11 Processor In Upcoming iPhones
Friday September 01, 2017 @11:16PM 'Pay With Your Face' Technology Tested in a KFC Store In China
Wednesday August 30, 2017 @10:02AM Amazon's Alexa and Microsoft's Cortana Are Going To Work Together
Monday August 28, 2017 @11:40PM Popular YouTube Artist Uses AI To Record New Album
Monday August 28, 2017 @02:56PM To Survive in Tough Times, Restaurants Turn to Data-Mining
Sunday August 27, 2017 @03:47PM Could AI Transform Continuous Delivery Development?
Sunday August 27, 2017 @01:53AM AI Training Algorithms Susceptible To Backdoors, Manipulation
Sunday August 27, 2017 @01:08AM A Platoon Of Networked Self-Driving Trucks Will Be Tested in the UK
Friday August 25, 2017 @06:28PM Elon Musk's Neuralink Gets $27 Million To Build Brain Computers
Monday August 21, 2017 @04:02PM Leading Chinese Bitcoin Miner Wants To Cash In On AI
Monday August 21, 2017 @12:35AM Elon Musk Backs Call For A Global Ban On Killer Robots
Monday August 21, 2017 @12:20AM Microsoft Speech Recognition Now As Accurate As Professional Transcribers
Wednesday August 16, 2017 @12:40PM Amazon Will Pay Developers With the Most Engaging Alexa Skills
Monday August 14, 2017 @02:53PM Google Hires Former Star Apple Engineer Chris Lattner For Its AI Team
Sunday August 13, 2017 @07:47PM Why AI Won't Take Over The Earth
Saturday August 12, 2017 @04:20PM Elon Musk + AI + Microsoft = Awesome Dota 2 Player
Wednesday August 09, 2017 @05:34PM Blizzard and DeepMind Turn StarCraft II Into An AI Research Lab
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @05:19PM AI Factory Boss Will Tell Workers and Robots How To Work Together
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @11:56AM IBM Claims Big Breakthrough in Deep Learning
Friday August 04, 2017 @10:42AM Chinese Chatbots Apparently Re-educated After Political Faux Pas
Tuesday August 01, 2017 @04:46PM Google Says AI Better Than Humans At Scrubbing Extremist YouTube Content
Sunday July 30, 2017 @01:39AM Will 'Smart Cities' Violate Our Privacy?
Wednesday July 26, 2017 @02:52PM Qualcomm Opens Its Mobile Chip Deep Learning Framework To All
Tuesday July 25, 2017 @09:49AM Elon Musk Says Mark Zuckerberg's Understanding of AI Is Limited
Monday July 24, 2017 @09:58AM Quest for AI Leadership Pushes Microsoft Further Into Chip Development
Saturday July 22, 2017 @04:26PM Mozilla's New Open Source Voice-Recognition Project Wants Your Voice
Friday July 21, 2017 @11:59AM Beijing Wants AI To Be Made In China By 2030
Thursday July 20, 2017 @06:01PM IBM's AI Can Predict Schizophrenia With 74 Percent Accuracy By Looking at the Brain's Blood Flow
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @06:49PM US House Panel Approves Broad Proposal On Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @06:45PM Dadbot: How a Son Made a Chatbot of His Dying Dad
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @05:34PM Researchers Have Figured Out How To Fake News Video With AI
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @02:00PM Many Firms Are 'AI Washing' Claims of Intelligent Products
Tuesday July 18, 2017 @06:22PM Michigan Will Build 25 Self-Driving Trolleys In 2017
Sunday July 16, 2017 @03:31PM Facebook's AI Keeps Inventing Languages That Humans Can't Understand
Sunday July 16, 2017 @02:18AM Is Homeland Security's Face-Scanning At Airports An Unreasonable Search?
Saturday July 15, 2017 @08:24PM Elon Musk Warns Governors: Regulate AI Before It's 'Too Late'
Saturday July 15, 2017 @01:38PM Can AI Replace Hospital Radiologists?
Thursday July 13, 2017 @01:59PM Artificial Intelligence Has Race, Gender Biases
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @05:47PM The Audi A8: First Production Car To Achieve Level 3 Autonomy
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @04:08PM 'World's First Robot Lawyer' Now Available In All 50 States
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @10:05AM After Go, Developers Are Now Building AI To Beat Us at Soccer
Sunday July 09, 2017 @07:15PM Google Home Ends A Domestic Dispute By Calling The Police
Sunday July 09, 2017 @05:20PM Former Oculus Exec Predicts Telepathy Within 10 Years
Saturday July 08, 2017 @03:39PM Google Funds A Team Of Robot Journalists
Wednesday July 05, 2017 @09:33AM Amazon's Alexa Passes 15,000 skills, Up From 10,000 in February
Tuesday July 04, 2017 @01:50PM Samsung Reportedly Developing a Voice-Controlled Speaker To Compete With Amazon Echo
Saturday July 01, 2017 @06:41PM Central Bankers Warned Of Possible Economic 'Robocalypse'
Saturday July 01, 2017 @12:07AM New Google Project Lets You Collaborate On Doodles With A Neural Network
Thursday June 29, 2017 @06:42PM Artificially Intelligent Painters Invent New Styles of Art
Thursday June 29, 2017 @05:41PM Google Photos 3.0 Released, Bringing Smarter Sharing, Suggestions and Shared Libraries
Monday June 26, 2017 @06:12PM Google Home Is 6 Times More Likely To Answer Your Question Than Amazon Alexa
Sunday June 25, 2017 @03:23AM Self-Driving Cars Are Safer When They Talk To Each Other
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @06:07PM Curiosity Rover Decides, By Itself, What To Investigate On Mars
Wednesday June 21, 2017 @11:40AM Jack Ma: In 30 Years People Will Work Four Hours a Day and Maybe Four Days a Week
Tuesday June 20, 2017 @04:05PM Google Launches Its AI-Powered Jobs Search Engine
Tuesday June 20, 2017 @03:08PM EFF Launches New AI Progress Measurement Project
Monday June 19, 2017 @09:15AM As AI Explodes, Investors Pour Big Bucks Into Startups
Sunday June 18, 2017 @12:48PM Garry Kasparov: The World Should Embrace Artificial Intelligence
Friday June 16, 2017 @06:37PM Microsoft's AI Is the First to Reach a Perfect Ms. Pac-Man Score
Friday June 16, 2017 @04:12PM Samsung's Bixby Voice Assistant Is Finally Coming to the US -- But Only As a Preview
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @06:38PM Facebook Built an AI System That Learned To Lie To Get What It Wants
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @03:39PM Robots Are Coming For Our Ms. Pac-Man High Scores
Wednesday June 14, 2017 @12:01PM US Weighs Restricting Chinese Investment In Artificial Intelligence
Tuesday June 13, 2017 @01:01PM The New York Times Is Expanding Comments With the Help of Google's AI
Tuesday June 13, 2017 @08:40AM Cook Says Apple Is Focusing on Making an Autonomous Car System
Monday June 12, 2017 @12:19AM Artificial Intelligence Can Now Predict Suicide With Remarkable Accuracy
Sunday June 11, 2017 @12:25PM Ask Slashdot: How Can Programmers Move Into AI Jobs?
Friday June 09, 2017 @04:32PM Japan To Launch Self-Navigating Cargo Ships 'By 2025'
Friday June 09, 2017 @03:54PM Ask Slashdot: What Types of Jobs Are Opening Up In the New Field of AI?
Thursday June 08, 2017 @04:42PM Boeing Studies Planes Without Pilots, Plans Experiments Next Year
Thursday June 08, 2017 @10:18AM 'I'm Not Sure I Understand' -- How Apple's Siri Lost Her Mojo
Thursday June 01, 2017 @04:26PM IBM Says Watson Health's AI Is Getting Really Good at Diagnosing Cancer
Wednesday May 31, 2017 @04:32PM Apple Is Manufacturing a Siri Speaker To Compete Against Google Home, Amazon Echo
Tuesday May 30, 2017 @05:18PM AI Could Get Smarter By Copying the Neural Structure of a Rat Brain
Monday May 29, 2017 @12:09PM Startup Uses AI To Create Programs From Simple Screenshots
Monday May 29, 2017 @03:32AM Is China Outsmarting America in AI?
Monday May 29, 2017 @03:15AM ARM's New Processors Are Designed To Power the Machine-Learning Machines
Sunday May 28, 2017 @09:28PM Walt Mossberg's Last Column Calls For Privacy and Security Laws
Saturday May 27, 2017 @08:53PM Google Go-Playing A.I. Retires To Focus On Energy Conservation And Medicine
Friday May 26, 2017 @04:39PM Apple Is Working On a Dedicated Chip To Power AI On Devices
Thursday May 25, 2017 @10:00AM Google AI AlphaGo Wins Again, Leaves Humans In the Dust
Wednesday May 24, 2017 @04:21PM Consumers Trust Robots For Surgery Over Savings, Research Finds
Wednesday May 24, 2017 @11:18AM China Censored Google's AlphaGo Match Against World's Best Go Player
Tuesday May 23, 2017 @06:27PM When AI Botches Your Medical Diagnosis, Who's To Blame?
Tuesday May 23, 2017 @11:19AM Google's AlphaGo AI Defeats the World's Best Human Go Player
Sunday May 21, 2017 @05:37PM How AI Can Infer Human Emotions
Sunday May 21, 2017 @04:04PM Vint Cerf Reflects On The Last 60 Years
Saturday May 20, 2017 @01:20AM The Working Dead: Which IT Jobs Are Bound For Extinction?
Friday May 19, 2017 @05:39PM Uber Starts Charging What It Thinks You're Willing To Pay
Thursday May 18, 2017 @04:22PM Google Launches Google Assistant On the iPhone
Wednesday May 17, 2017 @11:26AM Software Is Eating the World, But AI Is Going To Eat Software, Nvidia CEO Says
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @04:40PM Amazon Targets Cord Cutters With First-Ever Integrated Fire TV Sets
Tuesday May 16, 2017 @03:04PM Big Banks Will Fall First To AI, China's Most Famous VC Predicts
Monday May 15, 2017 @12:20AM Lyft And Waymo Announce They'll Collaborate On Self-Driving Cars
Sunday May 14, 2017 @12:40AM Microsoft Wants To Monitor Your Workplace With AI, Computer Vision and the Cloud
Thursday May 11, 2017 @05:43PM Apple Watch Can Detect An Abnormal Heart Rhythm With 97 Percent Accuracy, UCSF Study Says
Thursday May 11, 2017 @05:17PM Star Trek Bridge Crew Gets IBM Watson-Powered Voice Commands
Wednesday May 10, 2017 @05:52PM NVIDIA Unveils Tesla V100 AI Accelerator Powered By 5120 CUDA Core Volta GPU
Wednesday May 10, 2017 @10:41AM Police To Test App That Assesses Suspects
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @04:24PM Why Do Gas Station Prices Constantly Change? Blame the Algorithm
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @12:44PM Amazon Just Announced the Touchscreen Echo Nobody Asked For
Tuesday May 09, 2017 @12:21AM Chinese Startup Infervision Emerges From Stealth With An AI Tool For Diagnosing Lung Cancer
Monday May 08, 2017 @03:51PM AI Is in a 'Golden Age' and Solving Problems That Were Once Sci-fi, Amazon CEO Says
Monday May 08, 2017 @09:28AM Artificial Intelligence Closes In On the Work of Junior Lawyers
Saturday May 06, 2017 @10:06PM Swarm AI Spectacularly Fails To Predict Kentucky Derby Winners A Second Time
Friday May 05, 2017 @10:37PM Amazon Leak Exposes Echo AI Device With Touch Display and FireOS
Thursday May 04, 2017 @01:03PM 'This Isn't AI'
Sunday April 30, 2017 @06:30PM VC Founder Predicts AI Will Take 50% Of All Human Jobs Within 10 Years
Sunday April 30, 2017 @02:49PM Massive Tinder Photo Scrape Has Users Upset
Saturday April 29, 2017 @07:21PM Wired Founding Editor Now Challenges 'The Myth of A Superhuman AI'
Friday April 28, 2017 @04:20PM Amazon's Alexa Can Now Whisper, Bleep Out Swear Words, and Change Its Pitch
Tuesday April 25, 2017 @01:58PM IBM Watson Now Being Used To Catch Rogue Traders
Monday April 24, 2017 @02:12PM Microsoft's Nadella Banks On LinkedIn Data To Challenge Salesforce
Monday April 24, 2017 @10:22AM Billionaire Jack Ma Says CEOs Could Be Robots in 30 Years, Warns of Decades of 'Pain' From AI
Saturday April 22, 2017 @03:25PM Grand Theft Auto V Is Being Used To Help Teach Self-Driving Cars
Thursday April 20, 2017 @02:20PM Google Home Now Recognizes Specific Users' Voices, Gains Support For Multiple Accounts
Monday April 17, 2017 @05:30PM AI Can Predict Heart Attacks More Accurately Than Doctors
Monday April 17, 2017 @04:42PM Samsung Blocks Ability To Remap Galaxy S8's Bixby Button
Sunday April 16, 2017 @10:47PM Russia Wants To Send A Gun-Shooting Robot To The ISS
Sunday April 16, 2017 @03:04PM Steve Wozniak Predicts The Future
Sunday April 16, 2017 @01:53PM Disruptive AI Bots Are Aleady Delivering Radical Leaps In Productivity
Sunday April 16, 2017 @12:44AM 88% Of Medical 'Second Opinions' Give A Different Diagnosis - And So Do Some AI
Saturday April 15, 2017 @06:20PM Cadillac's Hands-Free Driving Option Also Nags Inattentive Drivers
Friday April 14, 2017 @09:32PM Tiny Changes Can Cause An AI To Fail
Friday April 14, 2017 @03:48PM A New Survey Shows Consumers Are Not That Freaked Out By Tech
Thursday April 13, 2017 @06:04PM AI Programs Exhibit Racial and Gender Biases, Research Reveals
Wednesday April 12, 2017 @05:52PM Burger King Runs Ad Triggering Google Home Devices; Google Shuts It Down
Wednesday April 12, 2017 @04:30PM The Dark Secret At the Heart of AI
Wednesday April 12, 2017 @04:11PM AI Wins $290,000 in Chinese Poker Competition
Tuesday April 11, 2017 @04:12PM Sir Tim Berners-Lee Lays Out Nightmare Scenario Where AI Runs the Financial World
Tuesday April 11, 2017 @10:48AM A Big Problem With AI: Even Its Creators Can't Explain How It Works
Monday April 10, 2017 @03:54PM Google's AlphaGo Will Face Its Biggest Challenge Yet Next Month -- But Why Is It Still Playing?
Sunday April 09, 2017 @06:40PM DeepMind Open Sources 'Sonnet' Library For Easier Creation Of Neural Networks
Thursday April 06, 2017 @02:48PM Facebook Messenger Now Analyzes Your Chats To Give You Recommendations
Wednesday April 05, 2017 @03:19PM Google's Custom Machine Learning Chips Are 15-30x Faster Than GPUs and CPUs
Friday March 31, 2017 @09:25PM Y Combinator-Funded Startup To Do Quantum Computing -- Only Better
Tuesday March 28, 2017 @11:32AM Evidence That Robots Are Winning the Race for American Jobs
Monday March 27, 2017 @07:15PM New AI Algorithm Beats Even the World's Worst Traffic
Saturday March 25, 2017 @09:43PM US Workers Face A Higher Risk Of Being Replaced By Robots
Saturday March 25, 2017 @02:43PM Uber Halts Self-Driving Car Tests in Arizona After Friday Night Collision
Friday March 24, 2017 @11:12PM Researchers Teach Self-Driving Cars To 'See' Better At Night
Thursday March 23, 2017 @03:37PM Boy, 4, Uses Siri To Help Save Mum's Life
Thursday March 23, 2017 @03:29PM Intel Creates AI Group, Aims For More Focus
Tuesday March 21, 2017 @04:35PM Who's Liable For Decisions AI and Robotics Make?
Sunday March 19, 2017 @01:07PM The First Practical Use For Quantum Computers: Chemistry
Friday March 17, 2017 @09:52PM Researchers Build An AI That's Better At Reading Lips Than Humans
Thursday March 16, 2017 @04:25PM Ray Kurzweil On How We'll End Up Merging With Our Technology
Monday March 13, 2017 @03:37PM Google Wants To Use AI To Cut the UK's Electric Bill By 10 Percent
Saturday March 11, 2017 @09:56PM Backlash Builds Against Bill Gates' Call For A Robot Tax
Friday March 10, 2017 @10:02PM California Says Autonomous Cars Don't Need Human Drivers
Wednesday March 08, 2017 @07:17PM Quantum Computer Learns To 'See' Trees
Wednesday March 08, 2017 @03:49PM Google Can Now Recognize Objects in Videos Using Machine Learning
Tuesday March 07, 2017 @11:34PM Airbus Reveals a Modular, Self-Piloting Flying Car Concept
Monday March 06, 2017 @10:20AM IBM Will Sell 50-Qubit Universal Quantum Computer In the Next Few Years
Thursday March 02, 2017 @03:30PM AI Scientists Gather to Plot Doomsday Scenarios
Thursday March 02, 2017 @11:00AM 'Robots Won't Just Take Our Jobs -- They'll Make the Rich Even Richer'
Monday February 27, 2017 @04:32PM LG Unveils G6 Android Nougat Smartphone With a Compact 5.7-Inch QHD+ 18:9 Display
Monday February 27, 2017 @03:34PM In Twenty, Fifty Years, 'We May Be Entertaining AI', Says Netflix CEO
Monday February 27, 2017 @11:05AM Supersmart Robots Will Outnumber Humans Within 30 Years, Says SoftBank CEO
Monday February 27, 2017 @10:55AM Google Assistant To Be Available On Older Versions of Android Soon
Sunday February 26, 2017 @08:15PM 'Uber Is Doomed', Argues Transportation Reporter
Sunday February 26, 2017 @06:50PM Is Google's Comment Filtering Tool 'Vanishing' Legitimate Comments?
Saturday February 25, 2017 @08:33PM Did Silicon Valley Lose The Race To Build Self-Driving Cars?
Saturday February 25, 2017 @03:32PM Machine-Learning AI Now Beats Humans At Super Smash Bros. Melee
Friday February 24, 2017 @02:19PM Americans Believe Robots Will Take Everyone Else's Job, But Theirs Will Be Safe, Study Says
Thursday February 23, 2017 @03:12PM Amazon Argues That Alexa Is Protected By the First Amendment in a Murder Trial